Online Professional Learning and
Technical Assistance for
21st Century Community Learning Centers

New Leaders Academy August 2021 (Four-Part Series)

Calling all new 21st CCLC leaders or anyone seeking a refresher on successful program elements! In this four-part series, The U.S. Department of Education's Y4Y Technical Assistance Team share a logical process for structuring your program from the ground up. We’ll start by examining the purpose and goals of the 21st CCLC initiative. Next, we’ll show how leaders should use their grant application to inform program design and explore strategies and resources for intentionally designing activities. We’ll wrap up the series with hiring and onboarding staff. Participants will have opportunities to interact with facilitators in real time to ask their most burning questions and share their own successful strategies with the class.

Webinar #1: Everything 21st CCLC!

Webinar #2: Help! How Do I Manage All These Moving Parts?

Webinar #3: Intentional Activity Design

Webinar #4: Staffing Matters

Please Note: A Certificate of Participation is only available to those who participated in the live events. Certificates will not be issued to those who view the recordings.

Y4Y Tools and Resources

Identifying Partners - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/identifying-partners

Program Planning Checklist - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/program-planning-checklist

Project Management Graphic Organizer - https://y4y.ed.gov/index.php/tools/project-management-graphic-organizer

Project Planner - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/project-program-planner

Sample Budget - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/sample-21st-cclc-budget-worksheet

Creating Your Sustainability Plan - https://y4y.ed.gov/index.php/tools/creating-your-sustainability-plan

Sample Procurement Packet - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/sample-procurement-packet

Sample Policies and Procedures Guidebook - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/sample-policies-and-procedures-guidebook

Sample Human Resources Packet - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/sample-human-resources-packet

Human Resources Planning Checklist - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/human-resources-planning-checklist

Youth Recruitment Planner - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/summer-learning-youth-recruitment-planner

Building a Comprehensive Schedule - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/summer-learning-youth-recruitment-planner

Identifying and Addressing Program Strengths and Weaknesses - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/identifying-and-addressing-program-strengths-and-weaknesses-training-to-go

Introduction to Staff Handbook - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/introduction-to-staff-handbook

Understanding Families and FERPA - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/understanding-families-and-ferpa-training-to-go

Survey of Student Needs - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/survey-of-student-needs

STEM Survey (K-1) - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/stem-survey-grades-k-1

STEM Survey (2-3) - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/stem-survey-grades-2-3

STEM Survey (4-6) - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/stem-survey-grades-4-6

STEM Survey (7-12) - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/stem-survey-grades-7-12

Data Tracking Packet - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/data-tracking-packet

5 Cs of Positive Youth Development - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/the-5cs-of-positive-youth-development

Virtual and Hybrid Environments I - https://y4y.ed.gov/webinars/meeting-21st-cclc-essa-academic-requirements-in-virtual-and-hybrid-environments-part-1

4 Cs of 21st Century Skills - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/the-4cs-to-21st-century-skills

Y4Y Project-Based Learning Course - https://y4y.ed.gov/learn/pbl/

External Resources

Grants.Gov - https://www.grants.gov/

Supplement Not Supplant - https://www2.ed.gov/policy/elsec/leg/essa/snstitleiguidance.pdf?utm_content=&utm_medium=email&utm_name=&utm_source=govdelivery&utm_term= 

iCan - http://icanaz.org/the-5cs-of-positive-youth-development