Online Professional Learning and
Technical Assistance for
21st Century Community Learning Centers

Approaches to Learning (Two-Part Series)

Tuesday, September 28, 2021 at 1:00 PM (Eastern)

 

Join the U.S. Department of Education’s Y4Y Technical Assistance Team as we explore facilitation methods, structures and activities that provide a variety of pathways to increase student engagement and learning. We’ll also share successful strategies from the field on how to build trusting relationships with students and community members. Explore how to use student voice and choice to cater to the varying learning styles, backgrounds and experiences of your students. Learn about Y4Y and other resources and become a pro at creating onsite and virtual learning environments.

Webinar #1: Building Relationships With Students

Webinar #2: Establishing Trust With Community Members

Please Note: A Certificate of Participation is only available to those who participated in the live event. Certificates will not be issued to those who view the recording.

Y4Y Tools and Resources

Secondary Student Interest Survey - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/secondary-student-interest-survey

Elementary Student Interest Survey - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/elementary-student-interest-survey

Student Survey - How Do I Learn Best? - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/student-survey

Socratic Seminars - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/guide-to-socratic-seminars

Nominal Group Technique - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/nominal-group-technique-for-brainstorming

Activity Choice Form - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/activity-choice-form

Five Skill Domains of Social and Emotional Learning - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/five-skill-domains-of-social-and-emotional-learning

Learning Methods at a Glance - https://y4y.ed.gov/uploads/media/8a-LearningMethodsAtAGlance508C.pdf

Observation and Supervision Checklist - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/partnerships-observation-and-supervision-checklist

Assessing Social and Emotional Learning Organization Readiness - https://y4y.ed.gov/tools/assessing-social-and-emotional-learning-organizational-readiness

External Resources

The Power of Relationships in Schools - https://youtu.be/kzvm1m8zq5g

Developmental Stages of Children and Youth -http://academic.son.wisc.edu/wistrec/net/developstagetext.html

CASEL School Guide - https://schoolguide.casel.org/

CASEL Video - https://youtu.be/dZL2eZBe4Ew

Coalition for Community School - https://www.communityschools.org/

Employability Skills Framework - https://s3.amazonaws.com/PCRN/docs/Employability_Skills_Framework_OnePager_20180212.pdf

Christensen Institute – https://whoyouknow.org/tools

Community Share - https://www.communityshare.us/

Virtual Club HLS Using our Senses to Cope – https://youtu.be/WYSGaVtVrNE